Skip to main content

Psychology Major and Minor

Declaring a Major in Psychology

  • Please visit the Important Forms page to download the Major Declaration Form or pick up copies from the Department of Psychology's Student Support Office located in 420 Huntington Hall.
  • Complete the Major Declaration Form.
  • Consult the Psychology Bachelor of Arts (BA) or Psychology Bachelor of Science (BS) degree requirements in the Course Catalog to make sure all Department of Psychology degree requirements are understood.
  • Bring the completed forms to the Student Support Office (420 Huntington Hall) to be assigned a psychology faculty member as your Major Advisor.
  • IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT all forms will need to be approved and processed by your home college before you will be officially considered a psychology major.

Declaring a Minor in Psychology

The minor in Psychology is purposely designed to meet the diverse interests of students and therefore does not have course requirements other than PSY 205. The usual rules and regulations are:

  1. Students must complete 18 credit hours of Psychology (PSY) coursework, 12 hours of which must be numbered above 299.
  2. A maximum of 3 hours of transfer credit in Psychology may be applied toward the minor. These courses must be approved by the Director of Curricular Studies based on a syllabus for the course. Syracuse University students planning to take a Psychology course at another college or university are advised to have that course approved for transfer credit prior to enrolling for the course.
  3. Courses taken with the pass/fail option may not be counted toward the minor.

Students should download the Minor Declaration Form as soon as possible after deciding to pursue a minor in Psychology. Consult the Course Catalog for specific minor requirements.

To declare a Minor, please visit the Department of Psychology's Student Support Office located in 420 Huntington Hall Monday-Friday from 9 am - 4:30 pm to speak with a program advisor.

Cognitive Science Minor

The minor in cognitive science offers study in recent interdisciplinary research on cognition. Relevant courses are offered in several departments and colleges, including L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science and the linguisitics, philosophy, and psychology departments within the College of Arts and Sciences. Students may pursue study in cognition science either by enrolling in the interdisciplinary minor or by majoring in selected studies in cognitive science (see selected studies).

Integrated Neuroscience Major (ILM)

Neuroscience is a 24-credit integrated learning major(ILM) which requires coursework in at least 3 academic departments, reflecting the diversity of contemporary neural science. You can find the description and requirements of this program here. Information about the Interdisciplinary Neuroscience Group at Syracuse University and its affiliated academic units are found here.

Please contact the ILM Director, the ILM Primary Advisor, or visit the undergraduate advising office if you would like to discuss taking the Neuroscience major.